What's all that account settings? How much does it matter?

Hello!
First things first, my name is tim and i'm a linux amateur approaching 50 years of age. My web server is hosting 5 domains with letsencrypt certificates. Most of it is running for several years (5-ish, i guess) and renewed certs with certbot successfully.

Recently the renewal stopped working. Digging into the certbot configuration and logs, it turns out that letsenrypt denies existence of my account and thus won't renew.

I possibly slaughtered parts of the configuration, but restored the account bits from backups. However it didn't help much; either the certbot daemon wouldn't start or certs expired or both.

Is there any documentation about accounts and their counterparts in the letsencrypt.org topology?
Cheers,

tim

1 Like

Usually, certbot will handle account stuff rather gracefully. For example, in a test environment just now, I removed the account from the /accounts/ directory and tried to renew a certificate: certbot just registered a new account and updated the configuration of the renewing certificate with the new account data. That said, sometimes that's not what you want, possibly due to rate limit overrides coupled to the existing account or perhaps the ECDSA beta or something.

I think to help you properly, we'd need to see what the exact issue is you're running into and have some more information. I'm also going to move your thread to the #help section of this Community, as I believe that's more appropriate. In the #help section, you would have been provided with the questionnaire which I'm going to copy/paste below. Please answer all the questions to the best of your knowledge and if you don't know the answer, please use that as the answer instead of leaving it blank.