What is the proper procedure to replace an existing paid certificate with lets encrypt

I have a paid certificate that’s about to expire soon.

I would like to use lets encrypt cert in replacement of this one.

What is the appropriate procedure to do this?

Info: Digicert - Still don’t have any lets encrypt stuff installed

My domain is: accordsalud.com.ar

I ran this command: nothing yet since I’m new to this

It produced this output: -

My web server is (include version): Apache 2.2

The operating system my web server runs on is (include version): CentOS 6.3

My hosting provider, if applicable, is:

I can login to a root shell on my machine (yes or no, or I don’t know): yes

I’m using a control panel to manage my site (no, or provide the name and version of the control panel): no

The version of my client is (e.g. output of certbot --version or certbot-auto --version if you’re using Certbot): nothing installed yet since I’m requesting for some kind of step by step or procedure

1 Like

Hi @no_spaces

there is no procedure. Start with some basics.

If you have root access, select a client.

Then create a certificate and install it. That replaces your current certificate.

If you don't have root access, your options are limited. Then it may be impossible to use a Letsencrypt certificate.

1 Like

You can have as many valid (and invalid, my webserver has two LE certs and one self-signed cert, works fine) certs as you want simultaneously. Browser will pick one.

Install certbot, let it do its magic.

Be careful that it does not remove the current certificate. When old one expires, you’ll have one cert instead of two.

1 Like

However, please note:

• You are currently using paying for an Extended Validation certificate – you won’t get one of those from LE.