Using Lets Encrypt Certificate on Cisco ASA for Anyconnect (SSL) VPN

Hello guys,

I am pretty new to this, i want to know how can i create a Web Server Certificate using a CSR (created on Cisco ASA), so i can import it back to the ASA and do SSL VPN towards it?

Please fill out the fields below so we can help you better.

My domain is: networkiq.co.uk

I ran this command:

It produced this output:

My operating system is (include version): Cisco ASA 9.4

My web server is (include version):

My hosting provider, if applicable, is:

I can login to a root shell on my machine (yes or no, or I don’t know): Yes

I’m using a control panel to manage my site (no, or provide the name and version of the control panel):

There’s a certbot plugin for ASA here.

You need to run it on an external box. The external box talks to LE via ACME and to the ASA using the ASA’s REST API.

LE’s authenticator validates control of the domain by issuing TLS-SNI-01 challenges to the ASA (answers pre-staged there via REST).

Thank you, i will give it a try

nice find

going to give this a go :smiley:

Andrei

@ahaw021 and @dido let us know how it goes?

Hello guys,

I cannot install the REST on the ASA while in production. The idea seems
great but the implementation for me is a bit unsure and messy and i would
definetely deploy this to a live production system on my clients. Might be
great for home use or lab but again a bit risky for everything else. Is
there any other way to submit manually a CSR and get a cert back (any
portal of Lets Encrypt)?

Cheers.

I cannot install the REST on the ASA while in production.

This is your local policy, I guess? Many production ASA’s have the REST API enabled. It’s production code from Cisco. No reason to be afraid of it IMO. Well, not more afraid of it than any other Cisco code : )

Is there any other way to submit manually a CSR and get a cert back (any portal of Lets Encrypt)?

You’re not going to be able to satisfy the HTTP-01 challenge with an ASA.