Understanding DST Root expiry and the older default cert chain

Hi, I am new to the certificates/ssl/letsencrypt. So please bear with me :slight_smile:

I recently came to know about the letsencrypt's solution to "fix" the CA expiration issue with android. To test it out and see how the behavior would be I loaded the stackoverflow page (which uses letsencrypt certs) and checked the cert chain. Its using the "Alternative chain" mentioned in here Extending Android Device Compatibility for Let's Encrypt Certificates - Let's Encrypt

Then I tried to write a c++ openssl client which simply connects to the same stackoverflow page and say that its hitting the "Old default chain":

SSL connection using ECDHE-RSA-AES128-GCM-SHA256
non null server cert
number of certs in chain is 2
0: Subject: CN = *.stackexchange.com
   Issuer:  C = US, O = Let's Encrypt, CN = R3
   Not after:    Mar  3 14:00:52 2021 GMT
1: Subject: C = US, O = Let's Encrypt, CN = R3
   Issuer:  O = Digital Signature Trust Co., CN = DST Root CA X3
   Not after:    Sep 29 19:21:40 2021 GMT
cert chain is non null
ERROR verifing connection 10   <---- error saying that the cert got expired

I ran both the tests on a fireos tablet which is based on Android 9.

My question is why the openssl client not seeing the "Alternative path" and still hitting the older default chain? Is there a way to modify the openssl code to hit the new "Alternative path"

The C++ code:
Processing: SslClient cpp.cpp...
SslClient.txt (5.4 KB)

1 Like

They are serving the wrong chain.
That chain has expired and hasn't been provided since May 2021.
There is nothing you can do on the client side to fix such a mistake.

4 Likes

The stackoverflow pages I've just tested are actually sending the right chain, though. What's the exact URL you're using where you see the R3-signed-by-DST-Root-CA-X3 chain? I wonder if there's an SNI issue, or it's different at different CDN endpoints, or something?

4 Likes