"unable to find vhost" error on Ubuntu 16.04 + Apache, www and non-www

Hi all, this is my first time installing a Let’s Encrypt SSL cert and I’ve hit a snag. I’m installing on a Wordpress site by following this DigitalOcean guide. I’ve gotten to step 2 and have run into my issue.

I am trying to install a single cert for both the “example.com” and “www.example.com” domains. However, I’ve been hit with this message. I don’t know where to go from here and am in need of assistance. Thanks! :relaxed:

My domain is: (prefer not to disclose)

I ran this command: sudo letsencrypt --apache -d example.com -d www.example.com

It produced this output: IMAGE HERE
We were unable to find a vhost with a ServerName or Address of
www.example.com.
Which virtual host would you like to choose?

x1 000-default.conf | |
x2 default-ssl.conf | | HTTPS
x3 000-default-le-ssl.conf | example.com | HTTPS

My operating system is (include version): Ubuntu 16.04 LTS

My web server is (include version): Apache2 running Wordpress

My hosting provider, if applicable, is: DigitalOcean

I can login to a root shell on my machine (yes or no, or I don’t know): Yes

I’m using a control panel to manage my site (no, or provide the name and version of the control panel): No

Can you paste your config files at pastebin.com ? I’m guessing that www.example.com isn’t set up there correctly.

Sorry to have to ask, but where from and how do I export my config files?

The main apache config files for your sites are usually in /etc/apache2/sites-available. Exactly how you copy and paste them depends on what OS you are running on. It’s probably easier to copy them to your local machine *by the same method you’d normally copy files between your local machine and the server ), then open them up in a plain text editor, so you can copy and paste them via your browser into pastebin.com.

Thanks serverco, here’s the two .conf files from “/etc/apache2/sites-available”.

http://pastebin.com/tuAmje39