Thunderbird not seeing letsencrypt cert anymore?

I'm not good with this stuff.. but its been working fine for like 3 years. I'm not sure where the problem is, but nothing on my server has changed other than updating the certs every few months. Its running UBUNTU 14.04 LTS with APACHE2..

The problem is, Thunderbird has stopped seeing my letsencrypt certs and is downloading the one issued by the server (bit of a fallback method). All HTTPS connections on my website all seem fine still..

I have no idea even where to start, it just started acting up within the past 3 months I think.

Which server is Thunderbird connecting to, when you experience this issue?

Are you running something like Dovecot/Postfix? Is the fallback certificate happening with a IMAPS/POP3S/SMTPS server or something else?

Identifying the relevant server is what you'll want to do first, because that will tell you which configuration file you need to look at in order to fix it.

If you want to share your domain names, we can check this for you.

1 Like

Yeah its dovecot & postfix.. POP3..

I just cleared all the certs out, and it just downloads from the server (exxoshost.co.uk) .. I haven't touched the mail server for literally years and its been fine previously..

Well, what domain is Thunderbird configured to connect to?

Indeed, the certificate that you get when connecting to 81.4.101.12:110 (STARTTLS POP3) is that self-signed one for exohost.co.uk.

However, you would usually tell Thunderbird to connect to a domain that matches one of the certificates on the Dovecot server (like mail.example.com), rather than connecting directly to the IP address. Do you have such a domain?

Yeah, theres a few domains, I wonder if for some reason its not updated the new certs on other domains.. though not sure why they would get missed after all this time...

All the domain names go to the same server IP anyway, its why I started just using the IP address instead of the domain names..