"This certificate was signed by an unknown authority"

Hi, I’m new to using lets encrypt and am trying to set it up on my Google App Engine project. I followed the instructions from this blog post, and I passed the challenge manually and uploaded my certificates to the App Engine project. Now when I try to visit my website using the HTTPS protocol, Safari is giving me a “This certificate was signed by an unknown authority” error, and chrome is also rejecting the certificate. It says the issuer is Let’s Encrypt Authority X3 which should be correct given the recent update. I made sure to copy fullchain.pem into the public key, so I don’t believe its a chain issue. Has anyone experienced this issue? Any help would be much appreciated.

you have to import the Let’s Encrypt Authority X3 cert into keychain access. Here is how :

1. Download the certificate file

2. Search “keychain access” in spotlight and open it

3. On the left of keychain access, there is a menu with your keychains. Click on the “system” keychain (under the “login” keychain)

4. Locate the certificate file that you downloaded in finder, then drag and drop it into the list of items in the keychain

Now, keychain access knows who sighed it and will tell safari that.

That will only affect inbland’s computer. Let’s Encrypt uses Identrust do it should work without importing anything into the keychain.

1 Like

I know, thats the problem.

Hi @Inbland! Can you share the name of your site so we can take a look?

I’d definitely recommend against following @melvyn2’s (well-intentioned) advice. That will make the site work on your computer but no one else’s, which will make it harder to see when you’ve fixed the problem.

@inbland, are you using the fullchain.pem ? if not, try using that instead of the other that you are using.

@melvyn2, yes I am using the fullchain.pem which includes two public keys.

@jsha, Hi! Sure, the name of my website is https://www.fosterhoff.com