[SOLVED] Cerbot - Error with specific domain, not with other one - Client with the currently selected authenticator does not support any combination of challenges that will satisfy the CA

Command:
sudo certbot certonly --manual --preferred-challenges=dns --manual-auth-hook /home/wspi3b/cbauth/auth-hook --manual-cleanup-hook /home/wspi3b/cbauth/cleanup-hook -d 'g-dev.nl' -d '*.g-dev.nl' -d 'gestdevelopment.com' -d '*.gestdevelopment.com'

Error:
Client with the currently selected authenticator does not support any combination of challenges that will satisfy the CA.

Hi there, total newbie here having a bit of a struggle right now.
I'm trying to set up a wildcard certificate for two domains (or four, two domains and 2 wildcards for those two) using an API so i can auto renew easily and for some reason the domain g-dev.nl is giving me a struggle.

But weirdly that *.g-dev.nl, gestdevelopment.com and *.gestdevelopment.com will continue just fine, asking me if im okay with my ip being logged and such, the normal stuff.

Also using that command for all four domains works fine when i use --test-cert, TXT records are appearing in my domain provider and the certificates appear in the output folder, not sure if that is normal or not. (Can i even use those? I assume not since it is a "test certificate")

I'm not sure why this is happening but i'm hoping it's a simple mistake on my side.

Got any tips?

UPDATE

I ran the command with the --verbose option and it seems i'm getting "status": "valid" for g-dev.nl and "status": "pending" for the other three, i have no idea what this means but it shows something is different atleast. Maybe the previous certificate is still active? g-dev.nl in the verbose result expires on february first and the other pending three expire on january 28th what confuses me is why (if it does) a couple of days makes a difference between working and not working

1 Like

Hi @massigest

are you sure there was no typo?