Root domain on one host, wildcard domain on another

Hello, I’m a developer doing some work at infrastructure and without a good background on dns, etc.

TL;DR

Where I work we have many subdomains at the domain given bellow. For every new customer of ours, we create 2 new sudomains, one A and another CNAME. What we’re trying to do nowadays is transferring this logic to a wildcard based one, for which we need a wildcard certificate.

More context

I’m having some trouble with the language here, so here goes a more detailed description:

we have the root domain cidadesaudavel.com and some A and CNAME records for each customer, like

some-customer-city.at-some-customer-state.cidadesaudavel.com and www.some-customer-city.at-some-customer-state.cidadesaudavel.com.cidadesaudavel.com

The customer’s applications are handled by three different hosts, and our root domain is served by a fourth. We are trying to use/create a wildcard certificate for a fifth host to where we are migrating our infrastructure step by step, while solving the problem of having to create a new certificate for every new customer.

The main point

What I would like help is with how can we manage the creation and administration of the wildcard certificate, taking into account that the domain points to a host, and the wildcard certificate would be placed into another.

I currently don’t know if this is the best approach, If here is the best place for opening this topic, but any help would be greatly appreciated.

If you people know any good resource on the topic, sharing would also be really helpful.

More info

My domain is: cidadesaudavel.com

My web server is (include version):

Package: apache2
Version: 2.4.29-1ubuntu4.14

The operating system my web server runs on is (include version): Ubuntu 18.04

My hosting provider, if applicable, is: digitalocean.com

I can login to a root shell on my machine (yes or no, or I don’t know): yes