Revoked certificate still valid?

My domain is: radioactiveslop-dm.xyz

I ran this command: revoke

It produced this output: N/A

My web server is (include version): Foundry VTT (likely not relevant)

The operating system my web server runs on is (include version): Windows 8.1

My hosting provider, if applicable, is: N/A

I can login to a root shell on my machine (yes or no, or I don't know): Yes

I'm using a control panel to manage my site (no, or provide the name and version of the control panel): No

The version of my client is (e.g. output of certbot --version or certbot-auto --version if you're using Certbot):

Hello, Let's Encrypt community. I'm a novice to running a server, and almost got everything working right. The issue I have is that after I revoked my certificate via Certbot, every connection I make to the server still uses the Let's Encrypt certificate.

I started this server off with Certbot certificates, but now I'm trying to use Cloudflare to create my certificates. I currently have Cloudflare certificates on the server. However, I cannot tell if the Cloudflare certificates are functioning because every connection I make, as I mentioned earlier, uses the Let's Encrypt certificate that I already revoked via Certbot.

Am I missing something obvious or fundamental, or should the certificate have stopped being valid once revoked?

Hello @Horseshoe00,

First of all, if your private key has not been compromised there is no need at all to revoke a certificate.

Said that, you have issued 2 certificates, one covering radioactiveslop-dm.xyz and the other one covering radioactiveslop-dm.xyz and *.radioactiveslop-dm.xyz. Your site is using the second one but you have revoked the first one.

Again, don't revoke the certificates, if you don't want to use those certificates anymore... just remove them... well, first make a backup just in case.

Cheers,
sahsanu

3 Likes

I concur with my fellow volunteer above.