Renewing with slow DNS

Just want share my experience. Can’t hold it in myself :slight_smile:
I’m very new to SSL, so I’ve started from sslforfree.com that is based on letsencrypt.org
I just wanted to setup https for my website.

So, after several clicks it turned out to be that my hosting provider does not support creating folders with dots via FTP.
For example: “.well-known” gets an write error; but “well-known” (without first dot) is OK. No way.
So I can’t pass automatic nor manual domain verification at sslforfree.com

OK, lets try the last method - via DNS verification.
I’ve managed to set required TXT fields. But the TTL is 4 hours by default and cannot be changed surprisingly.
O-O-OK… lets wait. After 4 hours of waiting (www = “wait, wait & wait”?..) I’ve got my SSL certificate finally!

But wait again… the last screen says: “SSL Certificates expire after 90 days”.
So, is there some way do not wait again 4 hours every 3 months?..

Please increase certificate lifetimes!
Security considerations are well known, as I see in this thread. SSL certificates for 1, 2, etc years are commonly used for ages (in the world) and must-have for letsencrypt.org, I hope :slight_smile:

Hi @fastboy! Thanks for sharing your story. That does indeed sound like a very frustrating experience.

But the TTL is 4 hours by default and cannot be changed surprisingly.

If the TTL is 4 hours, that won't actually be a problem, because Let's Encrypt's DNS resolver sets a max TTL of 5 minutes. So it won't be using a cached version of the TXT record. But maybe your DNS provider only pushes out new records every 4 hours (which is a subtly different issue).