New certificate for website

Please fill out the fields below so we can help you better. Note: you must provide your domain name to get help. Domain names for issued certificates are all made public in Certificate Transparency logs (e.g. https://crt.sh/?q=example.com), so withholding your domain name here does not increase secrecy, but only makes it harder for us to provide help.

My domain is:
sabamist.com.au

I ran this command:

It produced this output:

My web server is (include version):

The operating system my web server runs on is (include version):

My hosting provider, if applicable, is:
GoDaddy

I can login to a root shell on my machine (yes or no, or I don’t know):

I’m using a control panel to manage my site (no, or provide the name and version of the control panel):
Plesk

Hi,

I’m a little tech savvy but not a tech professional and I’m out of my depth here. I want a new certificate for my website. I access my site via a GoDaddy web hosting service using Plesk. I’ve tried to install the Letsencrypt extension but my Plesk interface seems to be a locked-down version. I assume this is done so inexperienced users can’t stuff it up or maybe just so GoDaddy can bill for an annual certificate service?

There is an option to upload a certificate from a file so how can I generate a new certificate file for this?

Thanks for any help you can offer.

Hi @stepmars

if your hoster doesn't support that (or support the plesk - option), it's really bad.

You can install a Letsencrypt client. On your local computer. Then use one of the manual options. You need a validation, so you must create a file (your webroot - /.well-known/acme-challenge), then Letsencrypt checks this file. Or you use the dns-validation (creating a special dns - entry).

If that works, you have two or three files (certificate with public key, private key, perhaps an intermediate certificate), then you can upload these files.