Multiple domains with Certbot

My server serves multiple sites (one IP multiple different domain names) and until now I have installed certificates using certbo like this:

sudo certbot --apache -d example.com -d uploads.example.com
sudo certbot --apache -d secondsite.com

But now since the challenge fails I don’t know how to install certificates for multiple domains on a single server. I’m aware of the workaround command, but I’m not sure how to adapt it in the manner above (I’m a complete beginner sys admin).

I have installed certbot via its PPA repostiroty (ppa:certbot/certbot), i’m using apache2 with Ubuntu 16.04. The version of certbot in that repository is 0.19. Also does anybody knows when the repository receives updates?

1 Like

From the issue:

Unfortunately this will take some time, as it requires a release from the debian and ubuntu maintainers.
Until then users should use certbot-auto if they require features from the 0.21.0 release

You could try use certbot-auto in the meantime, or perhaps show us what workaround command you have tried and we can try work through it with 0.19.

1 Like

Thanks for the replay. I haven’t tried the official workaround because I’m afraid I might do something I won’t know how to undo (I’m complete noob to sys administration).

This is from the official certbot site:

sudo certbot --authenticator webroot --installer apache

Can I use something like this? Is there a way to --dry-run a command with certbot?

sudo certbot --authenticator webroot --installer apache  -d example.com -d uploads.example.com

Certainly, you can just add --dry-run to the end of that last command, and it will use the Let’s Encrypt test CA and not make any changes to your Apache configuration.

1 Like

Thanks, I tried, but it won’t work with --dry-run unless I use certain subcommands, it returns:

--dry-run currently only works with the 'certonly' or 'renew' subcommands ('run')