MacOS mail complains of unverifiable Let's Encrypt X3 certificate since yesterday

Since yesterday afternoon, the Mail program of my macOS complains that it can validate the certificate of my imap server.

The weird thing is that I could access my imap mail account for months without problem. I renewed the certificate the 1 sept. The Let’s Encrypt X3 certificate is appended to the server certificate returned by my server.

Another weird thing is that if I restart the Mail program I can access my imap mails and macOS’s mail doesn’t complain. The warning started only since yesterday in the middle of the day. Never had a problem before. Does Mac mail skip certificate verification in this case ?

Could there be a MITM attack ? Mail asked me to trust the certificate, but I don’t do that unless I understand and I’m sure of what is going on. I’m a noob with macOS so I don’t know where to look up the CA. This happend at my work place.

I had a similar problem with thunderbird on windows and linux. But in this case it would just block all access. I had to add the Let’s Encrypt X3 certificate obtained from the Let’s Encrypt site. This happened at my workplace and at home. So I suspect there is a missing certificate in thunderbird.

This really doesn’t look right. How can we be sure we have the correct certificate and I’m not in a glasshouse ?

I’d be curious about the full error message you’re seeing. The exact hostname of your IMAP server would also be useful in checking for any configuration errors.

Without that, it’s hard to speculate what’s going on here. The root certificate Let’s Encrypt chains up to is trusted by both Apple’s and Mozilla’s root program, so this sounds more like a configuration issue or a hostname mismatch (e.g. you’re connecting to imap.example.com, but the certificate was issued for mail.example.com).

Manually importing the “Let’s Encrypt X3” intermediate certificate should never be necessary.