Issue certificate on R3 intermediate

My domain is: gateway.remoni.com

I'm not an expert anything SSL, so excuse me if I'm not using the correct terminology. But I think we accidentally did certificate pinning!

My place of work have some services running in an Azure Kubernetes services, and we use CertManager to automatically supply SSL for these. One of these services is an mqtt broker that a bunch of IOT sensors use send telemetry.

Today that certificate was automatically renewed by the Cert manager (successfully), but the new certificate is signed with the R11 intermediate certificate. However, it turns out that our sensors had been pinned to ISRG Root X1 + R3, and will no longer connect.

R3 is still valid for about a month, which is plenty of time for us to fix the issue... IF we can get the devices online again.

So my question is: Is it possible to reissue our certificate, signed with R3, rather than R10/R11?

If not, our only solution may be to manually visit every affected piece of hardware and manually update them. They are scattered across my country...

Uh, no. Having anything like that pinned to an intermediate doesn't make any sense. The intermediates can, will, and do change regularly. Sometimes, as in this case, with plenty of notice. But Let's Encrypt also keeps intermediates in reserve for disaster recovery, so they might have switched to R4 at any point in the past few years without any further notice.

If you have the certificate and private key from before your most recent renewal, you might be able to roll back to that to use it temporarily if it's not yet expired.

7 Likes

No, R3 has been retired and will not come back.

Your old cert for gateway.remoni.com (issued by R3) is still valid until 2024-07-17T12:32:48. You can manually install this certificate (you're reusing the private key, so you still have access to that) to give you 30 more days to fix this issue.

PS: For reference, here's your new certificate (issued today; by R10):