Intranet certificate request

Hi everyone,
I am a newbie in the field of certificates and would like to understand if it is feasible to certify my intranet domain without exposing the domain itself on the internet.
I have read some discussion about it and there are conflicting opinions. I understood that the correct way is the DNS-01 challenge but as a neophyte I would need someone to show me the steps to get the job done.
The domain is on Microsoft servers and is like * .intranet.mydomain. The web apps I use are many and on different platforms and as you know the latest versions of web browsers no longer accept self-signed certificates. Any advice is welcome. Thanks in advance to all those who want to help me.

1 Like

Hi @pepsy80

start with the required basics:

Then select a client and use it:

If you use the client correct and if your configuration is good enough, you will have a working certificate.

1 Like

Thanks for Quick reply.
I read those Pages before posting but i dind't really find a solution. My question Is : how to create a working (wildcard?) certificate for my intranet using certbot, or some other tool, using dns-01 challenge. The other question Is : Is It possible?

2 Likes

You have to select a client and use that client. That's the job you have to do.

Well, first, you need a public domain--it needs to be registered, and DNS records need to exist. Then, request a cert using your favorite client using the DNS challenge. It will tell you to create a DNS TXT record for _acme-challenge.yourdomain with a specified (long, apparently-random) value. Create that record, wait a few minutes, tell the client to continue. If you created the record properly, you'll get the cert.