Instructions for dummies

Hi,

may you provide step by step instructions for absolute beginners?
I am just a private webmaster and would like to have my homepage accessible via https.

I read the documentation but it starts witht that I don’t know where to type in this:
$ git clone https://github.com/letsencrypt/letsencrypt
$ cd letsencrypt
$ ./letsencrypt-auto --help

I am using Win 8.1 and MacOS X 10.9.5

Thanks

Eckart

Unless you have root access (web hosting plan), I've made a tutorial for OS X users here:

Before you begin make sure that your hosting plan meets the requirements for Let's Encrypt

Thanks. I will try it.

Hi, my webhoster said that SSH-access is not included in my account but they could upload an external certificate for me.

Would that be ok to get this working?

Thanks

Hello @eckart,

Sure, the manual mode explained in the tutorial should work for you in your shared hosting but keep in mind that you should perform this process 4-6 times in a year because the certificates are valid for 90 days. If you agree with this manual process, go ahead :wink:

Cheers,
sahsanu

@eckart If you’re not able to use SSH with your hosting plan, you could execute the domain verification (acme-challenge) via FTP access too. Create the required folders and files with an Texteditor like TextWrangler (free to download and use)

Hi effg
maybe I could ask you for some further assistance.

I installed the software with
git clone https://github.com/letsencrypt/letsencrypt
After a couple of minutes my Mac confirmed the software to be installed.

I followed the next step and typed cd letsencrypt in the terminal.
I got the message:
eckartsacsimac2:~ eckartsmac$ cd letsencrypt
-bash: cd: letsencrypt: No such file or directory

what went wrong?

Thanks a lot.

Hi @eckart
use Spotlight to locate letsencrypt folder (click the icon at the right corner of your screen). Nonetheless, letsencrypt should be installed in your user folder.