Idea - Rechallenge and Revoke, Extend Cert Lifetime

Disclaimers:

• I'm not going to put a great deal of effort into putting my thoughts into words here because it's probably going to go nowhere here and would certainly conflict with CABF ballots which I have no knowledge on.
  • I did not search if other people have had this idea before.

Background:

Not all certificate uses in the wild (legacy software) are easily made compatible with the concepts and methods of full automation that ACME presents. As a result of this, system administrators still prefer to have some systems bound to year-long certificates (if not greater) simply due to the classic XKCD comic where the juice isn't worth the squeeze and where downtime/maintenance windows are required anyway.

Problem:

LE's maximum issuance for certificates is 90 days which is too aggressive of an expiration for some system administrators to react to certificate renewals for the "sacred systems" as mentioned above.

The Idea:

Allow administrators to issue certificates up to 360 days in length but require them to come back and reauthorize the domain identifiers within the account periodically. In the event of failure to authorize, the affected certificate(s) are revoked by LE.

The Results:

Part 1 - Certificate Issuance

1. An administrator creates an ACME account.

2. An administrator creates a certificate order with the desired identifiers.

3. The administrator completes the challenges for all identifiers.

4. LE retains the authorization objects (AOs) on the account as normal.

5. LE issues a 360-day certificate to the administrator.

Part 2 - Challenge Renewal

The below logic is basically a while loop ONLY BEFORE the timestamp in the NotAfter attribute of the issued certificate:

1. When any of the AOs reach 2/3 of their lifetime, the email addresses tied to the account (if any) get email alerts for all relevant AOs that they must renew before the noted time.