HTTPS for Dummies

Hi,

I’m putting together a website and I want to use HTTPS with Let’s Encrypt. I’m happy configuring Linux and Apache and lots of other fancy CLI stuff, but I have zero knowledge of this particular topic.

Looking through the documentation here I need to do some background reading before I start, so I have half a chance of doing it properly. Does anyone have any recommendations for explainers etc?

(If there are any such documents, could I suggest they’re added to the FAQ? It would help a lot of people, I reckon.)

Steve.

1 Like

Are you looking for the information on how HTTPS works or just the information on how to obtain Let’s Encrypt certificates? I think for both topics you can find some useful guides on Youtube (for example, these cover getting LE certificates using ZeroSSL certificate wizard: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zUOohw61yhk, https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ScCO9uZIVv0). If you search for something like “Let’s Encrypt Tutorial”, I’m sure you will get a list of useful videos too.

That should give you a good reading :slight_smile:

@leader At the minute I’m looking for basic information - I know I need a certificate, but what is it, where does it come from, and how does the web server use it? I realise that the specific configuration information will differ between servers and OSes, but the basic concept must be universal. I want that information to give me some context when I’m figuring out how to use Let’s Encrypt.

@Osiris I’ll read through those. I suspect they’ll go a lot deeper into the guts of the subject than I need, but maybe I can pick up the high-level stuff I’m after.