HOW to renew a certificate?

Please forgive me, I am new to this; I have started using a Synology NAS two months ago.

I know this must be a VERY, ridiculously basic question -- but HOW do I renew a certificate?

The email "Let's Encrypt certificate expiration notice for domain ..." does not seem to mention this, nor does the page "Integration Guide - Let's Encrypt", it only talks about WHEN etc.
Also on the documentation page "Documentation - Let's Encrypt" searching for the term "renew", I cannot find something so simple as a link to a page where I can do the renewal (this is what I would expect), and the same happens here in the community/forum, where I looked at all occurrences of "renew", which all discussed special problems, not answering the simple question: HOW DO I DO THE RENEWAL OF A CERTIFICATE?

Thanks a lot in advance, and again apologies for taking your time with this. I must be blind or stupid, but I do not find the answer which everyone else is seeming to find easily. (If I did not overlook this, I suggest providing the answer right in the reminder email or on the landing page cited therein.)

1 Like

Welcome @tsepati

I'm guessing you used your Synology device's built-in option to get the original certificate. That would also do your renewal. I'm also guessing something changed in your configuration since you first got your cert otherwise it would have renewed. Maybe you closed off port 80. Your Synology should have a log somewhere with the failure reason. You would probably be better off posting this in the Synology forum.

There are other ways of getting certs. Most often we help people who installed an ACME Client and configured it to get a cert. Had you done that you probably would have been able to answer more of the questions on the form you were shown when opening a Help topic.