How to implement on 20+ sites / Nginx / Ubuntu

I’m brand new to Let’s Encrypt. Using Nginx on Ubuntu 16.04 LTS. I need to roll out an implementation that allows me to provide certificates for quite a few websites. At least 20. I’m using one IP address – is this possible?

1. I’ve added the certbot repository (add-apt-repository ppa:certbot/certbot)
  2. Then did apt-get install python-certbot-nginx

So now I’m just trying to figure out the best way to do this. I don’t want to do an umbrella statement because there are some sites being added later.

Any help greatly appreciated!!!

I would search google as there are plenty of articles on how to use certbot with NGINX on Ubuntu

Andrei

Hi @outergain, you should have a lot of choice in how you use Let’s Encrypt certificates.

Most clients since Windows 98 have supported Server Name Indication (SNI), where the client tells the server what server name it’s intending to connect to before the server presents the certificate. Nginx and other web servers can use this information to decide which certificate to present to the client, in case there are several configured certificates that cover different domain names.

The most important thing for you to look at might be

https://letsencrypt.org/docs/rate-limits/

to ensure that you use Let’s Encrypt in a way that doesn’t run into any rate limits (for example when re-issuing certificates due to later-added sites).

When you run Certbot, you should be able to tell it with -d options which domains you want it to issue a certificate for at a given moment. There is also an optional --cert-name option which is useful when trying to replace a previously-issued certificate with a new one that may cover more or fewer domain names.

Hey @schoen, thanks for your reply. When I try to run:

./certbot-auto

In any shape or form, my system tells me it can't be found. So I installed the packaged again, but it said everything was already there: