How does one install Pebble?

In recent releases, Go deprecated and then EOL'd the go get installation method, as used in the Pebble docs. Pebble now lacks functional installation instructions.

I have limited experience with Go and can't figure out a way to correctly install Pebble from the Github repo. All my online searches either return the old methods, or new ways to install official releases. Does anyone here know how to install the active github repo?

5 Likes

I just use go install ./...

It then puts the two binaries in ~/go/bin/.

The following is just for devving on Certbot:

I then in certbot-ci/certbot_integration_tests/utils/pebble_artifacts.py I change:

asset_path = os.path.join(ASSETS_PATH, '{0}_{1}_{2}'.format(asset, PEBBLE_VERSION, suffix))

To:

asset_path = f"/home/osiris/go/bin/{asset}"

Works nicely for me :slight_smile:

Also interesting might be the following script I use when I'm doing a little bit more tinkering on Pebble. I just run the following once at the beginning of a dev-session:

export GOPATH=/home/osiris/pebble/
alias buildpebble='go install -v -ldflags "-X main.BranchName=$(git branch --show-current) -X main.CommitHash=$(git log -1 --pretty=format:%h)" ./...'
echo "You can now run 'buildpebble' from within the Pebble Git repository."

And then I run buildpebble from the Pebble git repo. The location is different in that case due to the different GOPATH variable.

The reason I did the above is because I wanted to show which commit Iw as running when devving. This is accomplished in the Pebble code by:

diff --git a/cmd/pebble/main.go b/cmd/pebble/main.go
index f281df2..ee29d76 100644
--- a/cmd/pebble/main.go
+++ b/cmd/pebble/main.go
@@ -31,6 +31,12 @@ type config struct {
        }
 }

+// build flags
+var (
+       CommitHash string
+       BranchName string
+)
+
 func main() {
        configFile := flag.String(
                "config",
@@ -52,7 +58,7 @@ func main() {

// Log to stdout