How can I suggest Let's Encrypt rather than paid options in the Brazilian government?

Dear Let’s Encrypt team.

My name is Valério, I’m a IT analyst in a brazilian government position and we are using Let’s Encrypt in one of our web software.

Another government department asked us why we are using Let’s encrypt rather then a other brazilian paid option.

I need your help to sustain my position in keep using Let’s encrypt.

How can I explain to others the advantages of Let’s Encrypt over others paid options.

I wait your reply.

Thank you for your time.

I see a lot of advantage in using Let’s Encrypt rather than a another certificate authority, nut let me enphasys first on one major drawback:

The main limit is Certificates per Registered Domain , (50 per week)

So if you create a lot of certificates under .gov.br you may hit that limit (there is an Exemption for Renewal)

See https://letsencrypt.org/docs/rate-limits/ for more details.

But, other that that, the main advantages of Let’s Encrypt for your use case (but you already know it):

• Free
  • Automated

Hi @valeriocarvalho

technical, there is no difference between the encryption using a domain validated or an extended / organisational validated certificate. Only the length of the certificate key (2048 or 4096 bit) and the configuration (tls.1.2, new cipher suites) is important.

So if you want to use Letsencrypt certificates with internal servers, there is no limitation.

It’s an interesting question if a government should use Letsencrypt with public servers without Extended validation.

But as @tdelmas wrote: The automation is the main thing. Manual installation is painful, I did this about years. Now customers can route their own domain to my service, a script runs - oh, there is a new certificate :wink:

For public domains, of course (and a resolver publicly accessible must be able to answer DNS requests, at least for TXT records to solve the challenges)