How can I create a certificate for a server that will never be connected to the Internet

I am a tech enthusiast and need to set up certificates for my home network. I plan to use Rockylinux, Ubuntu and Windows computers. Some of my web browsers and other client applications refuse to connect if the host application does not have a certificate. I dont have an internal private web server yet, but may do soon.
How do I generate a certificate if I am not on the Internet for my private applications?
Can I generate certificates if my private computers are never and will never be connected to the Internet?
Thank you

My domain is: myhome

I ran this command:

It produced this output:

My web server is (include version):

The operating system my web server runs on is (include version): Rockylinux

My hosting provider, if applicable, is: N/A

I can login to a root shell on my machine (yes or no, or I don't know): Yes

I'm using a control panel to manage my site (no, or provide the name and version of the control panel): Dont know

The version of my client is (e.g. output of certbot --version or certbot-auto --version if you're using Certbot): Dont know

To have a publicly trusted certificate (like the ones Let's Encrypt issues), you must own a public registered domain name. That bit is not negotiable.

With a public registered domain name, you can obtain certificates using the DNS Challenge, for which you need outgoing internet access (to talk to Let's Encrypt's API and to talk to your DNS Provider's API), but you do not need to expose your private network to incoming connectoons.

You do not have to use a publicly trusted certificate. You can create self-signed or use a private CA which is local to your network. For this, you don't need Let's Encrypt, you can do it on your own computer using offline tools. However, it that means you will need to configure every system to trust those certificates explicitly, since they will not be trusted by default.

8 Likes