Generate/Request or Renew SSL Cert using Python script

Hello,

I'm new to python as well as Let's Encrypt and wanted to understand what/how does one work with ACME protocol using a python script to request a new cert or renew an existing one. This is not going to run on a server. I understand the process of having to show ownership of your domain but I see that as a separate and manual step to update DNS with a TXT record.

Can someone please show me an example of a python script that by providing the domain name it will initial an SSL request? I have already created an account key but I am not familiar as to how to use in in the script to make an SSL request.

Thanks!

1 Like
4 Likes

And the official documentation is

https://www.rfc-editor.org/rfc/rfc8555

with Let's Encrypt's initial directory endpoint being https://acme-v02.api.letsencrypt.org/directory, which is where clients start from. (This isn't necessarily at all straightforward for people implementing this for the first time, so @jvanasco's reference to a sample implementation is probably more helpful—but this is the documentation when you're ready for it or if you want to compare it to the implementation!)

5 Likes

Thank you both @schoen @jvanasco. I have already reviewed that article but noticed that in step 3, it refers to running it on a server. My goal is to write a tool that would only use the API to make a request for a new cert or renew a cert without having a server to install it on.

The idea is to make the API call to request a cert (new or renew) for a domain (and or additional domains) which would then generate a TXT record that I can then create to validate the domain/s. That would generate the necessary files (in the different formats) which I then download and use to import the certificate into AWS.