Failed authorization procedure: The client lacks sufficient authorization :: Incorrect validation certificate for TLS-SNI-01 challenge

Hi all,

I'm brand new to using Let's Encrypt and finding I'm having quite a few issues with it.

I've worked a fair bit with certificates in the past but I'm buy no means an expert so I'd appreciate any possible advice.

Our company has a server running four different websites and the certificates are about to expire. Three of the domains recently had a new EV certificate installed which is fine. My boss has asked me to us LE for the last one which I'm trying to do.

However I can't get it to work. I'm using the tutorial posted here and when attempting to run "sudo ./letsencrypt-auto", I get an error as below:

Failed authorization procedure. mydomain.com (tls-sni-01): urn:acme:error:unauthorized :: The client lacks sufficient authorization :: Incorrect validation certificate for TLS-SNI-01 challenge. Requested xxxxxxx.acme.invalid from xx.xx.xx.xx:443. Received certificate containing 'mydomain1.com, mydomain2.com, mydomain3.com'

IMPORTANT NOTES:

• The following errors were reported by the server:

Domain: mydomain.com
Type: unauthorized
Detail: Incorrect validation certificate for TLS-SNI-01 challenge.
Requested dxxxxae7e7c0abfc3
8351ffef.acme.invalid from xx.xx.xx.xx:443. Received certificate
containing 'mydomain1.com, mydomain2.com,
mydomain3.com'

To fix these errors, please make sure that your domain name was
entered correctly and the DNS A record(s) for that domain
contain(s) the right IP address.

Note that mydomain1, mydomain2 and mydomain3 are the three domains currently secured with the existing EV certificate. Presumably these are interfering with the process somehow: does having these domains using another cert mean LE cannot be used on this server?

Thanks in advance for any help.

That's fine, you can still use LE to generate a certificate for the 4th domain.