Certificate Score F

Hi,

I’ve setup 2 Ejabbed servers.
XM3 has SSL Certificate from StartTLS (xmpp.net Grade C)
XM4 has SSL Certificate from LetsEncrypt (xmpp.net Grade F)

• certificare score is 0
  • few ciphers show poor ratings.
    I am guess thats where the problem lies.

Test report is here: https://xmpp.net/result.php?id=613641
I used the standard command to install LetsEncrypt cert
"certbot certonly --standalone -d xm4.conversity.net"

I’m not an expert on this subject & looking for some help in understanding how can I improve my scores to “C” or better.

Pls suggest what I can do to improve the scores or point me in the right direction.

Thanks,
Sans

Please fill out the fields below so we can help you better.

My domain is: xm4.conversity.net

I ran this command:

It produced this output:

My operating system is (include version): CentOS 7

My web server is (include version): Ejabberd

My hosting provider, if applicable, is:

I can login to a root shell on my machine (yes or no, or I don’t know): yes

I’m using a control panel to manage my site (no, or provide the name and version of the control panel): Not Applicable

Your main problem is that the certificate is for the wrong name. It needs to be for the domain name of the service (i.e. conversity.net), not the server (although it may be needed for other purposes). use the following command to get a cert for both names.

certbot certonly --standalone --expand -d xm4.conversity.net -d conversity.net 

That will get both servers to a C. To get better than that you’ll need to make a few adjustments to the config:

1. Disable TLS compression by setting tls_compression and s2s_tls_compression to FALSE
  2. Disable SSLv3 by including - "no_sslv3" in protocol_options and s2s_protocol_options
  3. Change the ciphers and s2s_ciphers lists to exclude 3DES and non Forward Secret. For example: "HIGH:-kRSA:!MEDIUM:!aNULL:!MD5:!3DES"

Thanks @cool110