Can't renew after failed switch to ZeroSSL; LE server can't get token file

domain: cosd.com
server: Apache 2.4.52 (Ubuntu)
full shell & root access (no control panel)
client: acme.sh 3.07 & 3.0.8

I can't determine from our acme.sh log file (here) what's going wrong with my certificate renewal this time around. I've been using a LetsEncrypt cert for about 2 years with no problems... originally set up through certbot & then migrated to acme.sh soon afterward, and switching web host with no problems.

Just under 3 months ago I attempted to switch to ZeroSSL but then restored everything (?) back to LE when I couldn't get ZeroSSL to work. Our cron renewal failed at the next 60 day interval... whatever I do now, the logfile indicates it can't get the URL containing the created token:

[Sun Mar 31 18:24:20 UTC 2024] Invalid status, cosd.com:Verify error detail:129.213.164.46: Invalid response from https://cosd.com/.well-known/acme-challenge/hEG4yGOF2EZP4WiSsUUParYHiN2qwcl3RHHyc6Aigoo: 404

I've been using the usual syntax for Webroot mode (my site is in a /web subdirectory; though it's a CMS, files & directories are also accessible from there):

acme.sh --log --issue --server letsencrypt -d cosd.com -d www.cosd.com -w /var/www/html/cosd.com/web

The "Third Party Tool" letsdebug.net for cosd.com confirms under HTTPCheck that my .well-known/acme-challenge/ directory is accessible through Apache. (I think the HTTP 404 Not Found response for the dummy filename is normal in this context)?

From what I can understand in the logfile, it's getting a "token" with a long random name from the LE server and then creating a file named by that token in /web/.well-known/acme-challenge/ ... but by the time the LE server attempts to verify the presence of that file it isn't there (or not served by Apache; which works normally for files everywhere else).