Can I concatenate certs and keys?

Situation: 2 unrelated domains (with respective subdomains) on the same physical multi-protocol server, same IP, same registrant.

With Apache, no problem: thanks to virtual hosts, I can serve different certificates according to which domain was requested.

But the mail servers I installed (OpenSMTPD + Dovecot) don’t support virtual hosts (AFAICT). So they can’t serve a different certificate depending on the domain name by which they were contacted.

Now, I know I could just tell certbot to request one single certificate for both domains and all their subdomains; but I’m afraid the result will be a set of huge files (just guessing here, I have no experience).

Since I like to keep my websites snappy, I’d like to maintain separate certificates/keys for the 2 domains. Then, only for the mail servers my idea would be:

cat domain1-fullchain.pem domain2-fullchain.pem > sum-fullchain.pem
cat domain1-privkey.pem domain2-privkey.pem > sum-privkey.pem

and let them use the summed fullchain and privkey for their TLS connections. The question is: will this work?

Thank you LetsEncrypt.org and community. :hand_splayed:

Both OpenSMTPD and Dovecot support SNI (if your mail clients do). So both can be configured with multiple certs.

In terms of copying multiple certs into a single file, no, I don’t believe that method would work ( I haven’t tested though).

If you only have the 2 domains, you could do as you suggest, and get certbot to obtain a cert for just those 2 domains ( or possibly those domains with mail., smtp, pop3 subdomains, depending what you actually use for your clients).

The other option I often use is a server name certificate, then use the server name as the “host name” for the client - and that works with a single cert, and no issue for clients that don’t support SNI.

1 Like

Concatenating the files would result in a file containing two certificates (or two keys). That won’t work.