Automating Certbot for OSX Server error and stuck with generating the necessary renewal of LetsEncrpyt SSL

Original Post - https://unix.stackexchange.com/questions/391731/automating-certbot-for-osx-server-error-in-get-cert-sh-script

=====================================================

Hello Folks and Gurus,

Apologies if i am posting at the wrong place. Please direct me to the right place as I am really new at all of this.
I am currently facing a problem with my Mac OS-X El Capitan machine when running certbot (or basically letsencrypt).

My machine is a mac mini, that is supposedly running an MDM solution with letsencrypt as its SSL certificate. My MDM is working fine, and i just want to automate the renewal of SSL certificate via certbot.

I followed this guide for the entire set-up - Joshua Jung, Medium.com - setting up mac mini OSX as MDM
https://medium.com/@JoshuaAJung/managing-your-mobile-devices-in-the-cloud-using-apples-own-mdm-solution-8a588d9724b6

This is my script file - get-cert.sh

#!/bin/sh
DOMAIN=“mdm.school.domain"
PEM_FOLDER=”/etc/letsencrypt/live/${DOMAIN}/"

Renew the certificate

sudo certbot renew --quiet # old way, didn’t work.

new way below -

sudo certbot renew —-cert-name ${DOMAIN} -q

Generate a passphrase

echo starting password
PASS=$(openssl rand -base64 45 | tr -d /=+ | cut -c -30)
echo finish password - looks like no problem.

Transform the pem files into a p12 file

echo start openssl
sudo openssl pkcs12 -export -inkey “${PEM_FOLDER}privkey.pem” -in “${PEM_FOLDER}cert.pem” -certfile “${PEM_FOLDER}fullchain.pem” -out “${PEM_FOLDER}letsencrypt_sslcert.p12” -passout pass:$PASS
echo end openssl

Import the p12 file into the keychain

echo start security import
sudo security import “${PEM_FOLDER}letsencrypt_sslcert.p12” -f pkcs12 -k /Library/Keychains/System.keychain -P $PASS -T /Applications/Server.app/Contents/ServerRoot/System/Library/CoreServices/ServerManagerDaemon.bundle/Contents/MacOS/servermgrd
echo end security import