Adding a New Domain name to existing Cert

Hello,

I am new to this world, but have successfully obtained a certificate for my flying club’s new domain. Now they tell me they want to keep the old one as well. So I tried expanding my current certificate to add the old domain, but get this:

Domain: www.[name redacted].co.uk
Type: unauthorized
Detail: Correct zName not found for TLS SNI challenge. Found ‘’

To fix these errors, please make sure that your domain name was
entered correctly and the DNS A record(s) for that domain
contain(s) the right IP address.

The DNS A records are correct, BTW.

Reading post here it says add it as a SAN, but does not tell me how to do this. I followed some instructions on the Web, but the “openssl req” command never exited! always the > prompt and the post did not say how you send the request! The command was this:

openssl req
-new -newkey rsa:2048 -sha256 -nodes
-keyout privkey1.pem -out signreq.der -outform der
-subj "/C=UK/ST=Leicestershire/L=Saltby/O=[REDACTED]/emailaddress=[REDACTED]/CN=[REDACTED]
-reqexts SAN

So I am stuck, can anyone help me please?

Cheers, Clock.

1 Like

Look, in the DNS Zone you have the ‘root’ A Address, usually a non-named entry like:
@ A

Usually this entry is different of the ‘www’ entry:
www A

I think your problem resides on that, whenever you ask for a cert, like: 'subdomain.flyingclub.com
You must assure that the returning IP Address matches the machine that is actually asking for the Certificate:
So basically, if you a had a Certificate for ‘www.flyingclub.com’:
www A 1.2.3.4
subdomain A 1.2.3.4

Hope this helps you,
felco

Thanks for the reply.

Are you talking about my /etc/hosts file?
I do not have a entry in there for the old domain just now.

I do have an AliasServerName in my Apache SSL config file for the old domain

I have one domain - lets call it flying-club.co.uk that I have certified and the club want me to add the old domain name say old-flying-club.co.uk to the certificate.