No-IP -> Linksys Router -> FreeNAS server

My ISP, Cox, uses DHCP to dynamically change the IP address of my router. So I have to use a ddns to use a constant domain name.

My router is a Linksys WRT1900ACS, which only supports 2 ddns providers: no-ip and dyn.com. So I don’t have much choice. I’ve been using no-ip successfully for several years.

I’m in the process of configuring a FreeNAS server. And the problem I have is simple. The external domain names point to my router, but inside on the local network I have another NAS drive already running, plus computers, streaming devices, etc. So even port forwarding is complex.

I’ve tried lots of things to validate a certificate, but so far have been unsuccessful.

So my question is simple: How do I work behind the firewall to configure the FreeNAS when the domain name applies to the WAN connection to the router?

My domain is:
shangri-la.ddns.net, nirvana.myvnc.com, and tomahawk.ddns.net

I ran this command:
certbot certonly

It produced this output:
Lots of stuff. Read the description above. If the output is still necessary, I’ll supply the details.

My web server is (include version):
Not really using a web server.

The operating system my web server runs on is (include version):
FreeNAS 11.2 (FreeBSD 11.2)

My hosting provider, if applicable, is:
N/A

I can login to a root shell on my machine (yes or no, or I don’t know):
yes

I’m using a control panel to manage my site (no, or provide the name and version of the control panel):
? FreeNAS has a GUI. I’m using a combination of GUI & CLI.

Either port forward 80/443 to a jail on the FreeNAS box, or use DNS validation. The certificate itself can be uploaded and activated using the FreeNAS API. Here’s one way of doing it:

Thanks, Dan.