LE for Android server

I’m not sure if this is in the correct section and I tried looking for my topic but can’t quite find the same subject. I am new to Let’s Encrypt / Certbot and it looks really good but I want to try something that I’m not quite seeing any post/documentation on. Basically I want to use my spare android phone as a web server ( Probably Palapa Web Server), and so I want to get https working with that. Is that possible? I see mostly info on using it for your own linux server and doing it remotely but the only topics I see involving Android are that Android browsers accept sites that use LE to display them, which is a completely different topic altogether.

As a starter, that would require that your Android based Web server running off your phone has a registered domain name and a computer name that both are found on a publicly reachable DNS server.

I don’t say it’s impossible, but I would be (positively) surprised if that’s the case.

Apart from that, any Web server software that knows how to serve https should be possible to setup to use a certificate from LE. You’d have to check the documentation for Palapa to know if it’s capable to do so, but before spending time on that I would ask myself the question if your Web server will be publicly reachable by name, not only by an IP address.

The short answer is yes, the long answer is yes but this really isn’t the place for that kind of support. LE can provide you certificates, but it’s not really their job to support every web server under the sun. But hopefully I can give you pointers!

You’ll need to take a look at various web server packages, such as kWS, jetty, or KSWEB and decide what suits your situation and needs best.

Then you’ll need to find a client that works on Android (or I’d actually recommend replacing Android with Cyanogenmod - it gives you much more control). I’d take a look at some of the shell clients, like acme.sh or letsencrypt.sh and see if they’ll work on the Android shell.