How to fix or remove security from my server

Please fill out the fields below so we can help you better. Note: you must provide your domain name to get help. Domain names for issued certificates are all made public in Certificate Transparency logs (e.g. https://crt.sh/?q=example.com), so withholding your domain name here does not increase secrecy, but only makes it harder for us to provide help.

My domain is: garykoz.com

I ran this command:

It produced this output:

My web server is (include version):

The operating system my web server runs on is (include version):

My hosting provider, if applicable, is:

I can login to a root shell on my machine (yes or no, or I don’t know):

I’m using a control panel to manage my site (no, or provide the name and version of the control panel):

The version of my client is (e.g. output of certbot --version or certbot-auto --version if you’re using Certbot):

I have no idea what the above answers are.

I have never used a server before and just built mine. I tred to install security but did something wrong because I can’t get to my server any more. I tried undoning everything by doing the opposite of the install steps but it only got worse.

Can this all be fixed or undone or do I have to rebuild my server?

Any help will be greatly appreciated.

Thank you,
Gary Kozlowski

1 Like

Hi @garykoz,

What did you do in order to build your server, and what did you do in order to add security to it?

2 Likes

Thank you for answering my call for help.

I used a download of ubuntu server 18.04 to build my server. I was working OK until I installed security.

I used a link fron the internet:

https://www.digitalocean.com/community/tutorials/how-to-secure-apache-with-let-s-encrypt-on-ubuntu-18-04

2 Likes

What output did you see from the commands in the tutorial?

When you say you “can’t get to [your] server anymore”, do you mean just with a web browser, or you also can’t log in to administer it via SSH anymore?

2 Likes