Certbot: creation of certificates suddenly fails

I am new to letsencrypt, so please excuse I am asking a question multiple times answered on the forum already, but I did not find anything helpful.

I have a Qnap nas and running its implemented webserver. Cause I would like to install DAViCal on virtual machine on the NAS, I need Pound to forward the requests on similar ports depending on the subdomain.
Hence, I installed Pound and Certbot in an lxc-container according to this page: https://antrecu.com/blog/configure-lets-encrypt-service-pound-server

So far so good. Certbot worked fine in the beginning, I have been able to create a certificate for my domain reichmuthph.ch and one subdomain, cal.reichmuthph.ch. but I tried to do it for another subdomain, nothing works any more, neither for any subdomain nor for the domain itself any more. The output I got you can find below.

Question:

• is the number of subdomains to create certificates for limited in letsencrypt?
  • is it possible to generate multiple certificates for one the same domain on the same machine (it is not very reasonable, but a good indication to isolate the error)?
  • and most important: how can I fix this?

Thanks
Philipp

Please fill out the fields below so we can help you better.

My domain is: reichmuthph.ch

I ran this command: /opt/certbot/letsencrypt-auto --text --email admin@reichmuthph.ch -d photo.reichmuthph.ch --agree-tos --standalone certonly

It produced this output:
Saving debug log to /var/log/letsencrypt/letsencrypt.log
An unexpected error occurred:
ReadTimeout: HTTPSConnectionPool(host=‘acme-v01.api.letsencrypt.org’, port=443): Read timed out. (read timeout=45)
Please see the logfiles in /var/log/letsencrypt for more details.

/var/logs/letsencrypt/letsencrypte.log:
2017-07-17 21:29:23,293:DEBUG:certbot.main:certbot version: 0.16.0